The Grommet Reviews

The Grommet
Based on 11 Reviews
Review It

About The Grommet

The Grommet, found online at TheGrommet.com, is a website who says that their purpose is to launch undiscovered products and then help to succeed.

According to their website, they want their product launching platform to help level the playing field so that more people have access to their products and the companies and products that are truly the best "can win."

How Does It Work?

Like any other online retailer, anyone can go to their website and browse their catalog of products. Each month, they will release new groups of products that are being launched, and you can search through them by the type of product or by the time period in which it was launched. Orders that total more than $50 will be shipped for free.

Cost/Price Plans

Depending on the type of product you are interested in buying, items available on The Grommet range from as inexpensive as $5 all the way to custom made jewelry that begins being priced at $150.

Refund Policy

The Grommet's Return Policy is fairly simple. They will accept all returns within 30 days of when you placed your order, though there are certain restrictions and restocking fees that may apply. Food items, hygiene products, and cosmetic products may not be returnable. 

Customer Service Contact Info

They do have a published phone number, 877-862-0222, but their website does state that they will be able to process your returns, questions, or complaints faster if you email them by submitting your issues directly to their website.

Reputation

The Grommet seems to have a positive reputation without many complaints regarding their company policies or products, at this time. 

Is It Safe?

There do not seem to be any complaints about safety associated with this company.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different online retailers that specialize in unique items like Etsy, Luulla, and Storenvy.com.
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave The Grommet reviews below.

11 ‘The Grommet’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

worst CUSTOMER service

Reviewed By ferne toccin on June 6, 2016

I was within 30 days. Item did not work. RUDE and would not pay shipping back since I should NOT be responsible for an item that did not work. Supervisor would not take the phone but emailed policy. NEVER again!!! They should be out of business. The shipping only amounted to $3.00 and instead they have an angry consumer and lost her as well!!! DO NOT deal with them. Rude and not fair to the consumer!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Poor Customer Service

Reviewed By h2odoc781 on February 4, 2016

I used to really be a proponent of Grommet until I needed to return an item purchased for a gift. No returns after 30 days. Period. This is absolutely the worst customer relations experience I have had on the internet. Be careful of all their word-smithing, they are not as lovable as they portray themselves! I will no longer buy from them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 06, 2016

WORST customer service- I have to pay return shipping on an item that did not work!!!

Your Comment
1 Review

Still waiting….

Reviewed By Rebeccah on December 16, 2015

So far I am not overly impressed with my Grommet experience. I ordered my product almost a week and a half ago and while I understand that this is the busy season for UPS and Fed-Ex, I have received absolutely no updates on my purchase. When I try to track the package, it tells me that a label was created.
As I said, I understand it being the busy season but customers deserve to be kept informed on their purchases.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 18, 2015

I am having the EXACT same situation.

Your Comment
1 Review

Never Recieved, Refused A Refund

Reviewed By sharon Brown on December 9, 2015

I am so hurt and angry I could scream. My package never came, and the company says that they sent it and will not send another and will not send a refund. I received an email that said they are too small a company to send a replacement when the package was probably stolen from my porch. I was home all day, I get up at 6AM to get children to school. I have a tiny house on a wooded Cul-De-Sac, if someone walks on my porch I can hear it all over my house. No package was ever delivered to me and they are holding my money hostage because they know I cannot do anything. Shame on this greedy company for taking money from a mother just weeks before Christmas.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Grommet is hands-down the best

Reviewed By theresa on December 1, 2015

I love the Grommet! I love to look for unique, one-off treasures and this is the site I go to first. I have found some of the best gifts at this site, and their customer service is the best I've seen. If you support small business, this is the place to go

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Very Shady Review Policy

Reviewed By Jill Cocozella Bellavance on May 27, 2015

I was VERY upset when I found that two products I had placed in my shopping cart had terrible reviews but they were all pushed to the back behind 50 or so great reviews. Most people don't read page after page of reviews; especially the way GROMMET has theirs set up - very difficult to see them all. By design. There were quite a few amazing reviews placed before the negative ones. Hmmmm..,

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
theresa
December 01, 2015

As a consumer, you are responsible to review the information, the Grommet is not responsible to organize a review in any format

December 01, 2015

Hi Jill, I am The Grommet co-founder. Thanks for this feedback. Since you visited we've rebuilt how our reviews are displayed so that they are now in chronological order with the latest ones on top. When we first started asking our community for reviews we built the reviews to be sorted by rankings but as the reviews got to be so numerous this became a problem--much as you describe. We weren't trying to hide the bad ones but they got pushed down pretty deep on some products. Anyway, we fixed that problem. You now have a different experience of seeing the good mixed in with the bad.

Your Comment
1 Review

Style Over Substance

Reviewed By Linda Hendrex on December 7, 2014, Evergreen, Colorado

I think this trendy website is full of style but not so much real value or even unique products.

The products are not unique. Almost any Grommet can be found elsewhere on the web for a better price and there are dozens of similar products from a variety of different companies that have higher ratings and sometimes lower prices.

They are overpriced. $22.00 + Shipping for a package of 12 ( ONE DOZEN) cookies???? Give me a break. :-\ A few Grommets are pretty cool but can be found elsewhere for less. I bought Proper Socks directly from the manufacturer and got a nice price break. And I can buy yummy home made baked goods at my local Farmer's Market for around $5 - $6 per dozen. Same with almost everything on this site.

The site buries negative reviews on a back page. Go to Amazon.com for accessible and honestly posted reviews. Most Grommets can be purchased on Amazon and if you check the reviews here you will find that many of them are not what they are cracked up to be. Hiding negative reviews on a back page reeks of shoddy business practices.

Elitist feel to the website with trendy style, but very little substance. No thank you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
theresa
December 01, 2015

Then this site is not for you. You should continue to shop at Amazon, et. al and not support small business ventures. Plain and simple

theresa
December 01, 2015

Then this site is not for you. You should continue to shop at Amazon, et. al and not support small business ventures. Plain and simple

Jules Pieri
December 01, 2015

Linda, I am The Grommet co-founder. Thanks for this feedback. Since you visited we've rebuilt how our reviews are displayed so that they are now in chronological order with the latest ones on top. Re. your other comments, yes many older Grommets can now be found on Amazon and other websites. We work hard to build awareness for the products we discover so we are glad when we see them getting full distribution. People who subscribe to our emails generally are seeing these products months or years before they are on Amazon.

Linda Hendrex
December 02, 2015

Thanks Jules. Since posting the my review last year, I have noticed that your review system has been reworked. Also, I found a Grommet that was actually something I was unable to get elsewhere and decided to give it a try. I was impressed with how fast the shipping was and the product was great. Honestly, if I knew how to edit this review, I would, but at this time, I'm not certain that this site allows for people who have since changed their minds.

I still wouldn't give you company 5 stars, because many of the products are overpriced and many of them simply aren't as useful as they could be. But 3.5 stars for sure - maybe even 4 stars because not only is the review system better than it was, I have lately seen some genuinely awesome looking items. There are a few Grommets in my cart even as I type this. So I am open-minded and willing to change my opinion, and I'm glad to see that The Grommet is improving as they grow.

Please send me instructions on how to edit my review and I will be happy to change it to reflect my new and improved opinion.

Thanks!

~Linda~

December 02, 2015

Theresa, I have noticed some improvement in The Grommet since last year. I still love Amazon, but am not stuck in a bad opinion of The Grommet that I held a year ago. Since posting the above review, I've purchased a couple of Grommets and am willing to reconsider my former stand when it comes to some of the newer offerings. There are still some items that are overpriced and that don't interest me ($22.00 for a dozen cookies), but lately, I've seen some genuinely cool stuff that seem useful and affordable. If I knew how to edit my original review, I would, but at this time Reviewopedia appears not to allow edits.

Thanks!

~linda~

Your Comment
1 Review

Not Customer Friendly

Reviewed By LTW on November 20, 2014

I purchased an item based on a promo video -- as it turned out, a different product was needed to perform the action depicted, and therefore the product didn't work for me. They made no effort to help with this problem. It was all on me: return postage, re-order, new postage, etc. When I told them about the video discrepancy, their response was that they'd bring it up with their marketing department (in other words, too bad for me).

Also, I left a polite but truthful review, informing customers that they'd have to order a different product. Like another poster mentioned, negative reviews are at the very bottom of the list, and I guess mine was too negative, and it never appeared. Therefore, I would question all their reviews.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 01, 2015

Colleagues at the Grommet are very consumer-friendly. Before you purchased the product, did you pay attention to, and read all of the literature first? Maybe you should have called their customer service when you were in a better frame of mind. As a consumer, I accept the fact that not everything comes as expected and I respect that

Your Comment
1 Review

Good/Bad Reviews

Reviewed By Donald Duck on August 11, 2014

They have a number of products that have had reviews; however, they only show the good reviews on the top. You have to scroll way way down to find the bad ones. They claim that this policy will change...but who knows for sure. I have had to check out various products online to see if they are worth buying, only to see that have have been rated poorly. So far, they don't seem to want to check out to products before putting them up for sale.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 01, 2015

As I stated in a separate posting, it is up to the consumer to perform the due diligence when purchasing a product. I know when I shop, I look at ALL of the detail. If I were marketing a product, why would I want to show negative feedback right away? A negative review for one consumer is not the same for another

Your Comment
1 Review

Key Smart

Reviewed By Jimmy on July 23, 2014

If they put the Key Smart on there, you know it's a scam

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 01, 2015

Sorry but the Grommet is NOT a scam

Your Comment
2 Reviews

I was not impressed

Reviewed By julieann22 on June 13, 2014

Maybe Amazon.com has spoiled me, but my experience with thegrommet.com caused me to make my first purchase my last. I had a problem with my order somehow adjusting between confirming my shopping cart and pressing send on my payment. I IMMEDIATELY called the company to try to get the order adjusted - forced into voicemail. I sent an email and received a return call later in the day. The rep was nice enough, but everything about their policy was not customer-friendly. First off, the order could not be changed, so I was advised to purchase the item that was not correct on my order again, trust the person on the phone to "look out" for the order so my shipping could be refunded, and then contact them once my order arrived to get a return authorization for the product that should not have been added to my order. Oh yeah, and I had to make sure I processed the new order that night or the "deal" wouldn't be possible.

That seemed like a lot of heavy lifting for a simple transaction. Though I received a small discount on the product for purchasing three items, the same items - plus other scents not available on thegrommet.com - were found on Amazon.com for the original cost. And, Amazon has customer service and refund policies that were far more flexible that grommet's. Ironically, when I looked up the product on Amazon, I was surprised to see numerous reviews of the product, all at 2 stars. The grommet return policy does not allow you to return a product you've used just because you don't like it. That's pretty scary with products that have 2 star reviews.

Just sayin', use caution. Most of the items I found on this site were also on amazon, and that seems a far safer place to shop.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Jimmy
July 23, 2014

Thanks! The Grommet is a joke.

December 01, 2015

Amazon is a Joke. They treat employees horribly. The Grommet is a small business and you should try to look at that angle as opposed to a larger 'corporation" Try to look into what each company stands for before you make assumptions. I know I have has terrible experiences, several of them, with Amazon. I have had wonderful experiences with the Grommet

Your Comment

Leave a Review